#Rollingwithro Personal Opinion: Stepping out on faith, My Journey

image

The toughest decision I ever made in my life was to uproot from Memphis, TN and move to the bay area in California. With prayer and communication among few close friends and family, I ultimately decided to step out on faith and follow where it leads me.

Stepping out on faith is easier said than done. Here I was gainfully employed in Memphis for the last five years with a company many would love to work for. I had a pretty good salary for the cost of living in Memphis, my own vehicle (which I still have), a place to call home and a host of friends and family who I enjoyed being around. They also enjoyed being around me because of my likeable personality.

image

Growing up in the Mississippi delta and graduating from Rust College located just 32 miles south of Memphis in Holly Springs, MS, Memphis became a second home. I bet you are asking yourself why would I just decide to throw all of that away and start over in California with no job lined up? I’ll explain it below.rust

The bible teaches us that faith is the substance of things hoped for but not seen. It also says we only need faith the size of a mustard seed. Although small, very few actually have it. If I was truly stepping out on faith, going to Cali only if I had a job lined up would wholeheartedly contradict that definition. This is where a lot of people become afraid and allow fear to prevent them from stepping out. Your faith should minimize your fear, remember that.

Now of course there are other variables that may come into play such as having a family, kids, or some personal obligation that requires you to remain in a said location. In my case, these didn’t apply because its just me, a few bags of clothing, my little car and a dream that I want to chase.

When many heard I was planning to move to California they initially laughed at me. Many thought I was just talking until they actually saw it happen. I heard that I shouldn’t move, you won’t like it, its too expensive, and you will be back from people who claimed to be supportive. Not everyone is your friend, remember that.

With alot of negative noise in my ear, I wasn’t dismayed because in my heart I believed that this was a move God was instructing me to make. I also am a firm believer in trusting your instincts. When things become clear make sure your eyes are open.  When I prayed about this decision and he delivered a response to my heart, everything that was hard about it was erased. You can not have faith yet doubt, remember that.

One of the key lessons I have learned about stepping out on faith is that you can’t ask everyone you know for their opinion(s). What’s for you is for you. You have to believe that.  The person you are telling may not understand your decision and that is because they are fearful themselves. Read Who Moved my Cheese by Dr. Stephen Johnson and you will understand exactly what I mean. Everyone who says they have faith do not necessarily have it. Be careful with your dreams and aspirations. These are YOUR goals and the key word is YOU.

So far, this move to Cali has been a great one for Romaro Spivey the man. Although I haven’t landed a job yet, it’s giving me the opportunity to examine myself inside out. It’s giving me the opportunity to challenge myself to become wiser and more mature. Its giving me the opportunity to focus on my passion and gift that I’ve had all along. Sure you may say I could have did all of this in Memphis but I would have to disagree. If in all these years it never happened while I was there it wasn’t my time. As a matter fact, I’ve tried once before to leave and came right back because it wasn’t my season. Although I didn’t see it as clearly as I do now, I realize that God didn’t open that door because the timing was not right. Trust God, remember that.

Sometimes we need to separate ourselves from friends and family to better position ourselves to be great. Separation when used wisely can spark growth.  Surely I love and miss them but it was a necessary medium. In memphis I was the life of the party, being pulled here and there. Day after day, doing the same things over and over again not realizing I wasn’t doing anything for myself, but everything for everyone else. In Cali I don’t have that to worry about anymore. It’s a fresh slate or should I say a recycled opportunity.

I also wasn’t completely happy at my job. Although I was making money to sustain and not complain, I wasn’t completely giving my full potential because this job didn’t allow or require me the means to work with my gifts and talents. It was just a job pretty much. I do not want a job, I want a career and there is a stark difference between the two.

A job is where you go to simply earn a paycheck. A career is where you go to do what you love and earn a living. I prayed about this portion which ultimately lead to my decision to move.  Without any doubt, God made this tough mind-boggling decision much easier than I could have imagined. My mind was at peace with the decision I was ready to make.

I remember sitting at my desk exactly one month before halloween and typing up my resignation to present to my manager during our scheduled one-on-one meetings. The time finally arrived and there I was at my desk with feelings of nervousness in my stomach until I walked in his office.

We spoke as usual and he asked how I was doing. With a smile and a great deal of confidence, I told him I was doing pretty good but that I had decided to officially resign my position. I was giving him a month’s notice so that a replacement could be hired. I figured it was the right thing to do.

For a few seconds (which seemed like eternity), there was dead silence in the office. He was totally shocked by my announcement and asked me if I was serious. Keep in my I never gave any indication I wanted to leave other than applying for other positions within the company outside our local office in Memphis.  I implied that I was very much serious and ready to embark on a new journey in my life. He continued to ask me if I needed more time to think about my decision but I reiterated I had prayed and my decision was final. We talked a little more about it and he went on to acknowledge my decision, supported my ambitions, and wished me luck.

My mentor who was training me to take on some of his responsibilities found out and also told me he was proud of my decision. There was one particular thing he said to me that stood out: “Romaro, I am actually jealous of you because you have the will power to do something many of us are afraid to do and that’s step out on faith. I’m proud of you and good luck.” I’ll forever be appreciative of those words. Words are powerful, remember that.

Feedback as such can only a serve as fuel to your fire. It’s my hope that my story can inspire someone else along their path in life.  Although I am still on this journey with a long road ahead of me, I believe the Lord will see me through. So many people believe in me and want to see me make it. I’ve received so many texts, inboxes, calls and emails from people saying they know I am going to make it. Some of these are even from folks who personally do not know me but have connected with me via social media. That in itself is a blessing! Be positive, remember that.

God has given me this gift of transparency so when I say things it easily resonates with people. It’s something about my uncanny perspective from what I am told.  I’ve always had this ability to draw people in. Whether through a comical expression or serious dialogue, God gave me a talent to be a positive spirit who can engage his audience, entertain them and also lift spirits. I am not being boastful but more so open and honest about what he has given me. Most of this I am basing  on feedback from friends, family, strangers and new acquaintances.

I will continue to work towards my goal and I thank all of you who support me along the way. Even if I never reach it, I can always look back at my decision and know that I at least tried. Trying is half the battle!

My website has been a great start and I will continue to post stories and personal opinions to keep you info-tained (informed yet entertained). My platform has mainly been via Facebook which is why I am so active on it. Even the name rollingwithro was suggested by a friend. We all have to start somewhere. Be humble, remember that.  While you are at it, you can also like my page by clicking this link www.facebook.com/rollingwithro .

I am sure this journey will be filled with challenges but I know I have the capability to conquer them. I don’t think one day something magical is going to happen and all a sudden I’m this big celebrity blogger or radio personality. I do believe one day something is going to happen and I’ll be prepared for it.

I want to be like Steve Harvey. I look up to his success as a talk show, game and radio host. His platform is amazing and one thing he does is help others. Steve combines comedy with wisdom and it works.  Eventually he will need a successor and I’d like to be it. Speak your dreams into existence, remember that.

Until I reach my potential, I need to be hired by an employer who seeks someone who can be social butterfly and creative. I can do other things in the meantime so whatever opportunity presents itself I’ll gladly accept.  I like to engage with others, interact on social media, and I enjoy entertaining, I also enjoy providing customer service and writing (as long as there is a keyboard). Although my background is in I.T., I have no desire to give it my all. Steve Harvey once said, “focus on your gift and not your passion,” remember that.

Readers of this article remember, follow your dreams and if you must step out on faith, be ye of no doubt.  Thank you for following my journey and if you need a social media guy, do call. -Rollingwithro

Its Your Time. No one can block your time.

6 thoughts on “#Rollingwithro Personal Opinion: Stepping out on faith, My Journey

  1. Keep doing ya think…..keep “looking for the cheese”. There’s always a reward on the other side of moving on your ambitions.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment