Have You Ever Stopped to Smell The Roses – An Original #RollingWithRo Poetic Piece

OaklandLibraryEntrancePreface – So I was sitting on the steps of the Oakland public library downtown waiting on the doors to open and watching the noise all around me. I watched as people walked by, lights turned green and red, horns blew, and cars passed. In that moment I somehow stood still as I reflected on many facades of life. I look around and saw some flowers, I smelled them and decided this is what I would write. I pulled out my composition tablet and began.  Here are my thoughts in poetic form, HAVE YOU EVER? 

Have you ever stopped to smell the roses, to take in the fragrance of the day? Have you ever closed your eyes to let the cares of the world pass away?

Have you ever stopped to look at the people around you struggling to make it day to day? Have you ever stopped to appreciate the things that would be detrimental to who you are if they were suddenly taken away?

I am not talking about your car or your overly expensive shoes; I am talking about the things like your sight, could you imagine if it were taken from you?

Can you imagine your mind currently full of colorful thoughts, if you woke up in the morning and somehow it couldn’t’ remember how to tell your legs to walk?

Imagine if your fingers that to your hands are very strong;  you went to do a status update but couldn’t pick up your phone?

Stop wasting your energy on negative situations that neither YOU NOR I can control; If you truly believe that you are the master of your faith then be ye also the captain of your soul!

Use your time wisely. Every second contributes to a minute lost. Don’t find yourself in the future saying what you could have done; even procrastination comes at a cost.

Have you ever stopped to smell the roses and admire how they grow? Life is more than material gains, Life should mean so much more.

Don’t become an extra in your film, only showing up here and there. Make sure that you’re the star of your movie, if you are not, why should any one else care? Have you ever?

Rolling With Ro is an inspirationalist, blogger and social media enthusiast. He is a proud graduate of Rust College in Holly Springs, MS, one of the nations oldest HBCU’s founded in 1866.  Ro enjoys providing a one of kind perspective on a variety of issues and topics. He usually takes a comedic spin on topics but never fails to deliver the message. He can be reached via email at rollingwithro@gmail.com.  Don’t forget to like his fb page,rollingwithro by clicking on the link.

One thought on “Have You Ever Stopped to Smell The Roses – An Original #RollingWithRo Poetic Piece

Leave a comment